In Norse mythology there are ‘nine worlds’ (níu heimar),

  • Midgard, world of average human experience

  • Álfheimr, world of the Álfar (elves)
  • Svartálfaheim, world of the Svartálfar (black elves)
  • Vanaheimr, world of the Vanir
  • Muspellheim, world of fire
  • Jötunheimr, world of the jötnar
  • Niflheim, world of ice
  • Asgard, world of the Æsir
    • Helheim, the Netherworld

    If Hel and Niflheim comprised as one world, as is suggested in some sources. This region had no place in the tricentric structure of the universe, and Snorri Sturluson wrote that is was the first world to exist and that is lies in the southern hemisphere. Also, the worlds of Svartalfheim and Nidavellir may have been the same. No valid distinction can be drawn between the dwarfs and dark elves; they appear to have been interchangeable.